Planning Commission


The Oconee County Planning Commission is a joint endeavor between Oconee County and the cities of Bishop, Bogart, North High Shoals and Watkinsville. Started in the 1960s, the Commission currently has twelve members – eight appointed by the Oconee County Board of Commissioners and one appointed by each city's Mayor and Council.

The Commission reviews rezone and special use requests and forwards their recommendation to the appropriate elected body depending on jurisdiction.

Planning Commission meetings are regularly held at 7:00 p.m. in the Board of Commissioners Chambers or in Courtroom #1 in the Oconee County Courthouse on the third Monday of each month but are subject to change due to holiday conflicts. Please see the Planning Commission calendar to verify the date and time of monthly meetings. Agenda items are published in the Oconee Enterprise on the Thursday two weeks prior to each meeting and are available on the County web site. Information for requests scheduled for consideration by the Board of Commissioners or the Planning Commission are published on the County web site on Thursday prior to the scheduled meeting. 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes.

Rezone, Special Use, & Variance Requests 

Information on upcoming requests coming before the Planning Commission and/or Board of Commissioners.

View Upcoming Requests


(4-Year Terms)

  • Scott Green, Post 1
    Term Expires September 2023
  • Brad Tucker, Post 2 (Chair)
    Term Expires September 2022
  • Mike Floyd, Post 3
    Term Expires September 2021
  • Nathan Byrd, Post 4
    Term Expires September 2024
  • Brian Fosen, Post 5
    Term Expires September 2023
  • Charles Hunt, (Vice-Chair) Post 6
    Term Expires September 2024
  • Dr. Penny Mills, Post 7
    Term Expires September 2022
  • Karen Hilyard Post 8
    Term Expires September 2021
  • Vacant, Watkinsville - Post 9*
  • Steven Strickland, North High Shoals - Post 10*
  • Gavin Jordan, Bogart - Post 11*
  • Bruce MacPherson, Bishop - Post 12*

Additional Information

For additional information, please call (706) 769-3910.